In which I ramble... - 03.22.02 - 8:06 am
Look!

I'm fumbling along this morning on four hours of chemical-induced sleep. I knew I had to wake up even earlier than usual, yet I stayed up until 2, staring at my laptop and hoping inspiration would strike. And it did. Except it was the inspiration to play an hour of computer solitaire, not write that breathtakingly beautiful, thought provoking and funny short story. Oh well. Maybe I'll do that tonight. Yeah. Sure.

The duck discovered glass again this morning. I let him follow me around this morning while I took care of the other animals. We had some rain last night, so there are all these humongo mutant roachs scurrying around for him to eat. Howie loves his roaches. Anyhoo, I was walking back into the house to fill up some water bottles when SMACK, Howie walks beak first into the closed glass door. I would have laughed at him, had I not done the exact same thing seconds earlier. Poor duck. I led him to danger. Shit, poor me. My nose still smarts from that one.

Moral? Four hours sleep + hanging out w/a duck first thing in the morning= a dangerously oblivious Molly.

Now for the part of this entry when I get pissy.

A few days ago, our hens took a field trip to a youth club. As my mom and I were leaving, she saw that someone's minivan was blocking us in. I already didn't like this certain van since right on the bumper was a sticker saying: "You can't be Catholic and pro-choice." Dude, I don't care if you want to advertise your political and moral views on your Windstar, but saying that certain people can't worship one way because they support something you don't agree with? I bet the divine being in question loves that. Sorry...I digressed and I really shouldn't be running my mouth when I'm forgeting how to spell 'certain.'

Onward.

The owner of the van, a very nice and quiet lady, apologized and moved it for us. Then she explained that when she had arrived to pick up her daughter, the baby was sleeping and she didn't want to disturb her. What this has to do w/blocking us in, I don't know. Anyway, she had left the van running, w/her baby sleeping inside. While she socialized in the house for at least forty minutes.

Christ.

I know that you're in a nice neighborhood w/well-groomed trees and cul-de-sacs and SUVs galore and I know how nice it is to have a sleeping baby, especially if she's been 'crying all morning'. But would you like me to list all the names running through my head when I realized that there was a sleeping baby in a running van, completely unsupervised? I can name at least a dozen children....

My mother was fuming, ranting all the way home about how our chickens get better care than that child. I was only half-listening...I was more interested in knowing why someone would be so trusting of humanity. Did she think she would only be inside for a few minutes, but got wrapped up in socializing instead? Did she think about how dangerous it was to leave a tiny baby alone in public? Or am I just being overly paranoid when I think about the horrible things that could have happened in those forty minutes?

Or, as my father brought up, she just believed that God was on her side and wouldn't let anything happen to her child. This also interests me. In all seriousness, do people believe that? Do they do risky things and not worry because their god will protect them?

I ask too many questions.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06