Eggs - 05.06.02 - 11:40 pm
Look!

Dude.

I just candled* one of the eggs and the little embryo has grown SO MUCH. The air bag thingie** also looks good. All seven eggs are the same weight and I think we may have a high hatch rate. Knock on wood. Now. You, too.

You know how some people have pregnancy diaries? I'm really considering an incubation diary.

It's amazing to look at Howie and then that little egg and know that's where he came from. It's also amazing to be able to see the baby duck blob respond to light. It's almost like a heartbeat.

I've estimated the hatch date to be around the 20th. Hopefully, I will have a Gold Membership by then and I'll be able to post pictures. I also plan on putting a picture of Howie up so y'all can see just how damn cute he is.

I think it's time for bed.

*To candle an egg, hold it up to a light so you can see the baby inside. They call it this because, back in the day, people use to take tin cans, drill a hole in the bottom and place it over a lit candle. Then put the egg on top. The light coming through the hole would illuminate what was inside the egg. Now all you need is a flashlight, a dark room and a steady hand.

**You know how when you crack open an egg, there's that bubbly thing on one end? That's what I'm talking about.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06