Yay, Bruce! - 11.25.02 - 12:46 pm
Look!

Bruuuuce.

I know I said I wouldn't write about the show until I posted the photo essay, but fuck it.

I saw Bruce fucking Springsteen and the E Street Band last night and I'm gonna talk about it.

OK, so I was kinda bummed at work since my mom was being all weird and passive-aggressive about the show and threatening to not go at all. To quote what I said to my coworker "She's fucking up my yayness."

But even weird mommys couldn't ruin my overall giddiness and bouncing off the walls. By the time 5 o'clock rolled around, I couldn't stand still and my boss let me go at exactly 5:01.

So anyway, my mom and I headed out to the arena a little late, which was OK cuz Vicky, whom we were meeting there, was stuck behind a horrible accident.

Ah. OK, I'm still somewhat excited, so writing about it is very, very difficult. I want to write them a million letters and graffiti every park bench downtown with "The Boss Rules Yer Ass."

Anyhoo, he played for, like, three hours with lots of encores and I SWEAR, triple fucking swear, that Clarence heard my declaration of love this time. I'm not kidding. I yelled "I love you, Clarence!" and he kinda looked in my direction. Have I mentioned that I love Clarence Clemons? Cuz I do.

Among other things that I yelled: Yay, Bruce! Yay, Clarence! Yay, Steve! Yay! Bruuuuce!

And so forth.

Alas, I didn't lose my voice this time. So now I can't run around the library tonight, telling all the patrons I lost my voice at the Bruce concert. That saddens me.

And, dudes, they played "Dancing in the Dark".

Have I written about how that song is my anthem? It doesn't matter how goddamn angry or sad or hating my life I am, listening to that song automatically makes me happy.

And they played it.

Sweet fuck.

This is also cool because all of my favorite songs are mostly by dead people or defunct bands, so the chances of me ever seeing that song performed live are slim. But I watched Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band play "Dancing in the Dark."

Once I make out with Jimmy Fallon, I can die.

And as with the last time, we were directly behind the stage. In fact, we were even in the same section, just a few rows down. So, technically, we had better seats. Go us.

Man. I'm such a happy little dork.

To make yesterday even more interesting, I saw LBC. Yeah, I don't think I'm going to break up with him. We were both wearing red shirts, so I'm taking that as a sign or something. Of course, I couldn't talk to him outside of "Hi", but he actually seemed happy to see me. Which was odd. Cuz, like, I'm me, you know?

I think something will happen soon. Not because I suddenly grew a set of balls the size of coconuts or anything, but because if I don't do something soon, so many people are going to beat my ass to the ground. Seriously.

I am also taking it as a sign that I saw him the day I saw Bruce and then Bruce played "Dancing in the Dark". You know, that line "You can't start a fire worrying about your little world falling apart"? Yeah. I think Jesus is trying to tell me something here.

Bruuuuuuuuce. Hee.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06