Sauces and Freaks - 01.18.03 - 9:26 pm
Look!

First, apologies for any craziness in this diary. I've been screwing around with that private entry thing. I think I want to abuse it, but I'm not sure. Either way, I'll give you the password if you really want to read what I am sure will be boring entries about feelings and shit. Then again, I'm not sure if I really hold back enough to warrant making a super secret area. Eh. We'll see.

Second, I think I'm hallucinating again.

OK. I was in the video room for most of the day. It was a very busy day, too. Lots of people and lots of questions.

Oh, wait...I should explain something before I go any further.

My library doesn't have the videos out for the public to grope in some mad fit of Hollywood-dependency. Instead, there is a board for each video and the boards are organized in bins for the public to flip through. When a patron finds a movie they want to watch, they bring the board to the clerk and the clerk retrieves the video.

This is also how it works for CDs.

Anyway, I'm in the video room and this woman in her late 50s - early 60s comes to the window with her boards. I get the movies and am checking them out when she waves another board right in my face.

"Do you know what this is?" she asked. She stopped waving it and I saw that is was the CD board for Stone Temple Pilots Purple.

"It's a board for a CD," I answered, slowly. Then I told her that she had to go to circulation to get it. The woman stared at me for a few seconds.

"No," she said. "Do you know what this is?"

Maybe she wants specifics or can't read the lettering, I thought.

"Um. It's a board for a Stone Temple Pilots album."

"What are they?"

"They're a band. I guess you could say they are kinda grunge alternative rock. Maybe," I said. The board clearly stated that it was in the Rock category, but whatever.

"Do they sound Chineeeeese?"

I blinked at her.

She, on the other hand, had not blinked once during this entire conversation.

I don't remember what I said or even if I said anything at all. I just handed her the videos and waved my hand in front of my face to test for trails.

I mean, what the fuck was that? I was half-expecting some dude to jump out with a microphone and yell "Smile! You're on Freaky Ass Shit Camera!"

Anyway, I checked out this really big book about sauces and I want to read it now. Sauces are nice. There's not that many pictures, though. Although, now that I think about it, pictures of sauces wouldn't be very interesting. Hmm.

Here is where I go.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06