Plays and Poultry - 11.12.02 - 1:12 am
Look!

I caught the ducklings having sex last night.

Now, seriously, how many diaries will you read that above sentence in?

Yeah, so I walked on the porch to find that my little babies had grown up. To say I was upset would be an understatement. I started yelling "Dirty! DIR-TY!" and clapping my hands. I even told them that they were making God angry and He would smite them. But they just kept going until I ran to the kitchen in tears.

Coincidently, I have decided to get ordained. I don't care what species you are. There will be no premarital sex in my house.

Goddamn.

Anyway, so do you guys remember the play? Well, I had another meeting with the festival people tonight. This one was so we could share our work in whatever state it was in and give feedback to each other.

Wait. Did I ever really explain just what it was that I am doing? I didn't think so. OK, so the play I have been commissioned to write will be part of a festival. This festival will showcase plays and music by Floridians and about Floridians. I am supposed to write a one-act, one person play that is no longer than 30 minutes.

This is much harder than it sounds.

Because of the difficulty and my extra special procrastination gene, I hadn't written a word that I liked until last night around 2am. And the only reason I started writing last night was because I realized that the 11th was today. Had it been Tuesday like I previously thought, I wouldn't be writing this here entry. I would be sitting in my room, listening to Le Tigre and pounding away at my laptop.

So, yeah. I wrote about twenty minutes worth in a little less than five hours. Needless to say, I was very nervous when I started to read my script. I mean, it's pretty much just dialog and a set description. I haven't written any stage directions or script that involves Jeb! and statistics. It is very incomplete.

But, apparently, what I have is good. Which, in itself, is good.

I also got a killa statistics hookup from the producer.

The weird thing is, when I was reading my script out loud, I actually felt my voice waver and the weird feeling I get in the back of my throat right before I cry. Shit I've written has never done that to me before. So now I am worried that I put too much of myself into the play and if it's not well received by the public, it will suck ten times more.

Say it slowly. "Whatever."

As long as I am happy with it, it doesn't matter what the masses think. To quote L7, "the masses are asses."

Why did I go here with the entry? I shouldn't be thinking like this now.

Anyway.

We will not talk about the novel.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06