U-N-I-T-Y - 08.26.01 - 5:17 pm
Look!

I made it 23 days. Oops.

There are bad things happening right now but I do not want to talk about bad things so I will talk about my Christian friends.

Yesterday, I hung out w/this girl that goes on mission trips to Central America. She reads her Bible daily. She does not curse, drink, watch PG rated movies and 'Oh my gosh' is an obscenity to her. She is the polar opposite of me. Yet, I think she kicks ass and had immense amounts of fun hanging out w/her for seven hours. We went to the mall and ate soba noodles. I made fun of the shredded jeans at Charlotte Russe (or whatever it's called). She made fun of the boys in her youth group. We talked about tattoos...I want flames and roosters and poppies, she wants the Jesus fish. We bonded over crushes and a love of Frank Sinatra. She thought it was hilarious that my duck thought I was his girlfriend. I went for 7 hours w/out smoking a cigarette, saying 'goddamn', or telling any stories that involved booze and/or shit getting blown up. OK, so I said 'shit' once. The story required it.

I came home exhausted, my throat scratchy from talking so much, to find a letter on the table from a girl I have been penpaling with for almost three years. A sweet, natural red-head who loves ballet, horses and cooking. I competed against her at a state 4-H (what? you think I'm going to try to justify it or make some my-mom-made-me excuse? nope) competition. I was demostrating how to make vegan nachos and she was demostrating how to make chocolate chip cookies. We chatted about tofu. I had to leave the week-long event early because I had threatened to jump out of a 8 story window (heh) so we never got to exchange addresses. *But*, she tracked down my little brother and wrote me this lovely letter about her farm and some pumpkin bread she had baked that evening using rice milk. Thus began the years of correspondence. Once, I mentioned how I was reading Harry Potter and the Magic Something and she wrote back that she really wanted to read those books but her mom wouldn't allow it. Something about it glorifying Satan. Her family is *very* religious...no Halloween, church every day, no public school. Very sheltered. I'm worried about her right now because she's starting junior college and will be attending classes on campus. Her mom wants her to wear dress suits. Kids are bastards. I don't know how I can break that to her.

I sometimes wonder if either of these girls would still be my friend if they knew about the other stuff. And sometimes I wonder if I'm being facietious...but you can only be false if you deny your true self, right? I don't lie about anything. I just don't mention certain things. If they were to ask, I would say, 'Why, yes, I *have* been so drunk that I think I puked up some major organs.' Both of them know I am not religious. Neither of them have tried to impose anything on me. I like that. I respect them, they respect me. I don't say 'Jesus fucking Christ on a donkey' in their presence and they don't ask me to go to church w/their families.

For some reason, this makes me happy in a blissful, universal way.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06