The Boss! - 09.26.01 - 1:02 am
Look!

Heh, that was quick.

Since I've been on a Bruce Springsteen kick for the past week, what better thing to post than my review of his show in February 2000?

God, it was great. That night has to be one of my most favoritest nights of my meaningless life. I went w/three friends and we ended up at Denny's afterwards until about 3am. The next day at school, everyone w/in a two foot radius of me heard all about the gloriousness of Bruce and the E Street Band.

I almost lost my voice from screaming 'I love you, Clarence!' so much. I swear he heard me.

Anyhoo, this is the review I wrote for my high school newspaper. My punk rock credibility was questioned afterwards, but whatever. They can all go suck my figurative dick. I love the Boss.

title: The Boss!

If anyone knows how to rock n' roll (the old-fashioned way), it's Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band.

With seats as bad as I had (top row, directly behind the stage), one would think the show would be a total downer. But, no...it was the Boss, which meant no matter where no were seated, you still had a rockin' experience.

As w/any and every musical act, the actual arrival of the band on stage happened an hour late. One by one, the band members came on stage, greeted by applause. But the loudest greeting of all was saved for when the great (and fashionable!) saxophonist, Clarence Clemons, went up to the mike and said, "Ladies and gentlemen, all rise," thus ushering in the one and only Bruce Springsteen. All 20,000 members of the audience stood up and cheered as Bruce ran onto stage and most stayed that way for the rest of the show.

The band played a good 3 1/2 hours w/at least 3 encores. They did classics such as 'Thunder Road,' 'Promised Land,' an eerie rendition of 'Born in the USA,' and, of course, 'Born to Run.' Bruce also sang some of his more recent songs such as 'The Ghost of Tom Joad.' However, the best part of the show (for me, at least) was when Bruce dedicated a moving protest song to those who would be marching in Tallahassee the next day to combat the anit-affirmative action plan, One Florida (developed by the weasley and *rude* Jeb! Bush). Bruce stood there, basked in the blue lights, and said, "The fight for civil rights is not over," before launching into the song.

If there was one thing that stuck out about the show, it was the love felt between Bruce & the E Street Band and all the fans. There's something almost religious about his performance and the interaction between the audience and the band. In fact, during '10th Avenue Freeze Out,' Bruce launched into a rock n' roll sermon that had the entire audience excited; saying several times, "Can I get a witness?"

Despite the bands increasing age and the mostly true notion that aging rockers can't rock like they used to and are very pathetic and annoying when they try (I'm looking at you, Mr. Nugent), Bruce and the band rocked the stadium.

"Blow away the dreams that break your heart" -Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06