More Bukowski in the Afternoon - 04.26.02 - 3:58 pm
Look!

For your reading pleasure:

hell is a closed door
by: Charles Bukowski

even when starving
the rejection slips hardly ever bothered me:
I only believed that the editors were
truly stupid
and I just went on and wrote more and
more
I even considered rejects as
action; the worst was the empty
mailbox.

if I had a weakness or a dream
it was
that I only wanted to see one of these
editors
who rejected me,
to see his or her face, the way they dressed, the way they walked across a
room, the sound of their voice, the look
in their eye...
just one look at one of
them-

you see, when all you look at is
a piece of printed paper
telling you that you
aren't very good,
then there is a tendency
to think that the editors
are more god-like than
they are.

hell is a closed door
when you're starving for your god-
damned art
but sometimes you feel at least like having a
peek through the
keyhole.
young or old, good or bad,
I don't think anything dies as slow and
as hard as a
writer.

Goddamn, I love that poem.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06