Little House in the Swamp - 06.30.02 - 11:17 pm
Look!

I've purchased my second splurge since getting the job at the library.

First, I got a shitload of stuff from Lush which should be arriving tomorrow.

And last night I finally bought something that I should have gotten years ago.

The complete collection of Little House books. All nine of 'em.

I'm working my way through the series again and am almost finished w/Little House on the Prairie. Then I am going to find that awesome Laura Ingalls Wilder biography and read that again. And then I'm probably going to start all over again.

Cuz those are the best goddamn books in the world.

Laura Ingalls Wilder was my first serious idol and after reading the series in second grade, I knew I wanted to be a writer, too. I remember it took me two weeks to get through all nine books and for months afterward, I would make believe I was a pioneer living by the lake in my back yard. Hell, I still did that when I was twelve. I would still do that if it weren't for the fact that I'm too tall to get into all the cool little hiding places made by the ground eroding away from the roots.

I know. I need to grow up already. Get off my dick.

Anyway, so I'm reading these books and her descriptions of the woods and prairie and I really want to just leave. Move out to the middle of nowhere and boycott human contact and newspapers. I want to forget that there are so many people in the world and the majority of them are raving assholes. I want to be surrounded by the only good left in the world. Nothing.

This isn't even a sudden inspiration, by the way. For a very long time, I've been thinking about getting a tiny little house in the middle of a hammock or on the edge of the Everglades (well, what's left of them) and only leaving when I need necessary provisions. Like tampons and ranch dressing. I would make money by writing books and maybe a little extra cash from selling bracelets at a roadside stand. It would be nice. And I think I would actually be truly happy.

And for some odd reason, it feels like I can't wait any longer. I have to leave now or I'll lose. Or something.

Can you tell that being a civil servant is really affecting my views of people?

Today, I got to listen to a lady yell at my boss for asking her if she smoked. The lady had returned a book w/a cigarette burn and my boss wanted to know if it was her fault. Lady yelled and yelled and said she had never been so embarrassed in her whole life. Of course she doesn't smoke!

She so did it.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06