Writing Sample - 07.15.02 - 11:46 am
Look!

I have two hours to put together a writing sample. Weee.

Yesterday, my boss mentioned some kind of playwright contest thing that she had read about in the paper. This organization is looking for two people to write two Florida-based plays for an upcoming arts festival. They'll base their decisions on writing samples sent in from around the state.

Anyway, my boss couldn't find the blurb again at the library, so she said she'd look for it at home. This morning, she left a message w/all the information and hey! The deadline is today!

I called the number and asked if 'deadline' meant 'in your hands today' or 'postmarked today.' It means 'postmarked'.

Pssshh. No problem.

Well, OK. A little bit of problem.

The writing sample should be between 10-15 pages long, right? And I'm guessing they'd like some sort of script-type-thing in there, right? Cuz it is all about the plays, right?

I haven't written a play in years. Well, except a couple skits for drama classes I taught in 4-H. I have no material to send that showcases my dramatic talent(?). I could always just write a couple pages today and send that....

Then there's the stories and shit. I'm having a very hard time putting together fifteen pages worth of material. I haven't even written a story in a month.

I mean, what do they want? Should I send excerpts from the stories I wrote about Florida, even though they're at least three years old? What about the funny? Should I send funny stuff even though my concept of humor is pretty fucking warped?

I now have about an hour and a half to put this together.

In other news, every time I look over at the sucky fish tank, I see seven little ducklings staring at the sucky fish. It's like they're mesmerized.

I once stared at those very fish for hours, too. There was acid involved.

The ducklings keep coming in the house and it's annoying. Yeah, I know. Ducklings. Awww. But, dude, while ducks may seem like some sort of wonderful mystical creature, they still shit. A lot. I'm getting tired of walking them back out to the yard.

I probably should start putting together that sample, huh?

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06