Music Snob - 08.08.02 - 11:36 pm
Look!

It is so odd outside.

The sky is perfectly clear, yet the wind is blowing hard enough to make dead leaves dance over the asphalt. It's a little freaky.

I mean, it's barely August, yet it's starting to feel like autumn. Not that I'm complaining because, well, fall is my favorite season, but it's just a little strange.

I hope the weather will be like this for the Perseids.

Speaking of being a total geek, I ordered the new Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band CD. Shut UP. I love The Boss. And seeing as how I have no punk rock/indie rock/old time country/hardcore gangsta cred to protect, I will freely talk about my love for Bruuuuuce.

It's all my mom's fault, really. To this day, she harbors an insane crush on him and gets all misty-eyed whenever she hears The River. I grew up on his music (among other bands which I also still love, minus Pink Floyd) but even if I didn't, I think I would still know all the words to the entire Born in the USA album.

He just has IT, you know? Of course, you know. And if one more person says "You like Bruce Springsteen?", I will axe them. Severely. While singing Tunnel of Love.

OK, not really. But I will give the look of Fuck Off and go back to rambling about how kickass his last show was.

Looking at the above, I'm realizing why I hate answering the question: So, what music do you listen to? No matter what I say, I feel like a liar. I'm always forgetting someone or something and that simple question turns into an hour long monologue.

Seriously, though, what good is that question? Can a person honestly answer that in twenty words or less while still being thorough?

It's gotten to the point where I can barely take anyone seriously if they ask that question. In fact, from now on, I will answer that question w/nothing more than "Fucking Motorhead".

Now, if the conversation has already been in progress and there is no need to hurry up, I think "What do you listen to?" is an OK question. Kind of. Oh, I don't know.

I guess I'm just tired of people making assumptions based on the first three musicians I mention. Granted, it's better than people making assumptions based on what kind of pants I'm wearing, but it still sucks.

Oh, shit. Am I turning into a music snob? Goddamnit.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06