Politics and Cometbus - 09.11.02 - 12:29 am
Look!

Yes, I know what day it is and yes, I remember. That is all.

The 10th was the day of the Florida primaries. I was unaware of this fact until about twenty minutes before I had to be at for work. It's a thirty minute drive to the library.

My mom said I was already late for work and wasn't I just complaining that voting in this primary would make me feel dirty? Why, yes, I was, Mom. Now take me to the damn voting precinct.

Yeah, I voted and yeah, I feel dirty.

As with the presidential election, I didn't vote for the best person. I voted for someone who could possibly keep a Shrub out of office. And I hated it.

As much as it kills me to say it, there is no way that Janet Reno would beat Jeb! in the gubernatorial race. She's pissed off too many people and this state is still ass backwards when it comes to acceptance. She would lose and Jeb! would be back in his happy little Governor's chair, signing happy little laws that totally fuck with a woman's/child's/minority's/human's rights. It's literally making me sick to write this all out.

This state is in shambles and I will fully and vehemently blame Jeb! for it. The only good thing he did was tell Dubya to fuck off when he wanted to drill off the coast of Florida. But you know that stems back to some decades old grudge involving a toy fire engine and Christmas morning.

I don't want anyone on the ballot to win. Yet I don't want Jeb! as governor for another term. I had to make myself choose what was more important and vote accordingly.

This is democracy, kids.

Anyway, the one nice thing about today was I finally got Despite Everything: A Cometbus Omnibus in the mail. I have been reading it for hours and am both very happy and very depressed. I love it when writing does that to me. Seriously. I fucking love this zine and fucking hate that I'm twenty and don't have anything to tell even close to being as cool as those stories.

Damn. Now I want to go read more.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06