I can almost hear the sky shattering - 08.27.03 - 12:32 am
Look!

How cool is this?

I just went outside to look at Mars, right? I walked out into the street, looked to my right, saw that giant goddamn red eye in the sky and went whoa. Then I turned my head to the left and saw a rather large shooting star running its course from Pegasus, I think, to some point just above my head.

Yeah, that's pretty fucking cool.

OK, so it's almost an hour and two cigarettes later. After I typed the above paragraph, I went back outside and stretched out on my driveway. Monkey the Stray Cat came over and I petted him as I made up my own constellations. I can't get over how big that goddamn planet seems right now. It's the same size as one of the carnelian beads on my bracelet. Same color, too.

I wish I had the balls and brains to be an astronomer, but sometimes I worry that the science would ruin the mythology. Plus, it's all so fucking amazing that I would probably have a nervous breakdown like the first time I ever watched a meteor shower.

I could probably explain that, but I really don't feel like it right now.

Anyway, MAY HAS WONDERFUL NEWS and it's taking every ounce of strength to not blab about it here before she gets to blab about it there. Ahem. I'm just full of cliffhangers tonight, aren't I?

Blame Mars.

Now let's talk about New York. Is it weird that I'm actually more interested in a hotel cuz a review described the place as "musty"? MUSTY. That word to me means age and attics. I like age and attics. Musty means stories and stories mean something to think about instead of the date.

Plus, I have very, very low living standards and I'd like a place where I'm not scared to touch anything.

Speaking of very, very low living standards and the ability to be comfortable in even the most stark conditions, I'm thinking that maybe May, The Surprise! Happy! News! and I should go camping this weekend. I have to work on Sunday, but the place is pretty close by, so I could get to the library in time. No problem. I'd be all cool and shit from sleeping on the ground and eating food off of sticks and running around in the woods like the heathen that I am. I think it would be fun.

I really, really want to go canoeing, too.

OK, I'm going to go to bed now, I think. I have some letters to write, too. Letters are more important than sleep so maybe I should have just said "I'm going to go now" instead of giving you all the impression that I'll actually get to sleep before 4 this week.

Ha.

I'll sleep when I'm dead.

Edited to say: Oh my god. This just made me really sad. You know, I had a million and one chances to go to one of his shows, but always avoided it cuz I didn't want to put up with all the assholes. Damnit.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06