I'm sick of myself, too - 10.01.02 - 1:30 am
Look!

Tonight's Official Entry

I cannot begin to describe how happy I am that it is October. We were at the diner tonight when the clock struck midnight (real time and not Molly Time, which is ten minutes fast in the false hope that it will prevent me from being late all the time) and I remembered to say "rabbit, rabbit." When we left, the wind was blowing and the air was cool and the clouds were high and thin. It felt like October.

Then the wind picked up the smell of the nearby Dumpster and it felt like October in Florida.

It's time to run everywhere at night and walk slowly with your arms swinging at noon. I can sit outside in my dad's pickup with my back to the cab and count stars that always seem brighter when the earth moves away from the sun. Different places that are far away will seem closer as that travel lust that always appears this time of year sinks in. I will see ghosts on the sidewalk and hear certain songs like I first heard them years ago as we drove to the beach with the windows down and our teeth chattering.

Everything seems clear. Everything seems possible.

Goddamn, I love autumn.

Oh, and don't forget to sign up for NaNoWriMo! this year. It's always good to have someone to brainstorm with when I run out of ideas for the best ways to combine alcohol and caffeine. You know you want to join me, baby.

Anyway, I have decided that I am going to post the songs on the mix tape that I may or may not give to LBC.

And here it is:

1) Jon Spencer Blues Explosion- She Said
2) Lars & the Bastards- Wine & Roses
3) Warren Zevon- Play It All Night Long
4) Social Distortion- It Could Have Been Me
5) Ryan Adams- To Be Young
6) Scud Mountain Boys- Cigarette Sandwich
7) Tom Waits- Gun Street Girl
8) Bright Eyes- Calendar Hung Itself
9) Rollins Band- Illumination
10) Van Morrison- Moondance
11) Bikini Kill- False Start
12) Weezer- Say It Ain't So
13) Archers of Loaf- Plumbline
14) Johnny Cash- Ring of Fire
15) Elliott Smith- Some Song
16) Tom Petty- It's Good to be King
17) Iggy Pop- The Passenger
18) Tom Waits- Jockey Full of Bourbon
19) Bright Eyes- Something Vague
20) Ryan Adams- When the Stars Go Blue
21) Scud Mountain Boys- Glass Jaw
22) Leonard Cohen- Everybody Knows
23) Butthole Surfers- Shame of Life
24) Bright Eyes- Lover I Don't Have to Love

I call the tape "Autumn" since all of the songs on here either remind me, or will remind me, of the fall. I've been meaning to make a four tape set featuring each of the seasons, so if I don't ever get up the guts to give it to him, I will at least have a good mix tape for myself.

Last night, May, her brother and I went out to dinner. While we were waiting for the food, May told her brother about the whole LBC thing and my mix tape idea. She asked him what he would do if a "foxy girl just handed (him) a mix tape out of nowhere." Keeping a straight face, he said, "I would be very happy. Then I would go home and smell the tape and pet my cat for hours." Maybe you had to be there but that was the funniest shit I have heard in a long time. And I work in a public library, so there is some stiff competition.

Now I almost have to do it. Cuz the mental image, man....

Input! Should I?

There. I relented and just asked for advice. I apologize. Tomorrow, I will talk about the duck and nothing but the duck. Promise.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06