More duck stories - 10.02.02 - 12:10 am
Look!

Almost every single diary I have read tonight has praised the arrival of October. It makes me happy that you are all happy, too.

Tonight still feels like October and, therefore, good. Despite the fact that my stomach hurts and I think I took on more than I can handle right now and really need to get my priorities straightened, I am feeling nice. Just...peaceful.

A guy tried to flirt his way into getting a library card despite only having one piece of shit with his current address on it. He was quite the fox, too. I would have been flattered, but you know...a library card. God knows what he does to get out of a speeding ticket. He is supposed to come back tomorrow with all the required paperwork so we'll see how charming he is then.

I promised duck stories, didn't I? Is it OK if chickens are involved? What if it's just about chickens? OK, then.

This morning, the ducklings were yelling and yelling for apparently no goddamn reason. So I went out there with a cup of scratch feed and threw some out in the hopes that they wouldn't be able to quack with their bills full. Of course, the chickens see food and come running out of the shrubbery. The ducklings waddle on over, too, and soon everyone is eating.

Then, as if on cue, both hens put their necks down and charged at the ducklings. The ducklings scatter to various parts of the yard and the hens resume eating.

I swear they planned it.

Another thing I noticed is that with chickens, if one of them is doing something, chances are the other one is doing the exact same thing a few feet away. It's kind of creepy.

I should also mention, if I haven't already, that Howie is doing well. I don't know what the hell was wrong with him, but he seems to have recovered. There probably wasn't anything wrong to begin with. Maybe he just realized that if he doesn't walk, people will actually carry him. I don't know. I'm just glad my duck is OK.

(PS: Thank you for the guestbook messages and notes. I am so going to do it.)

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06