Wargasm 1 2 3 - 02.18.03 - 11:29 pm
Look!

We had almost 1200 people come through the library in four hours tonight. We are not a large library, people. Those numbers are fucking obscene.

Thankfully, I was all doped up on the 'Tussin, so I really didn't care. OK, yeah, I did. Not even chugging cold medicine could soften the fact that almost 1200 people came through the library in four hours.

1200 people.

Four hours.

Fuck me.

I'm actually going to agree with the reference librarian when she says what's the point of having a day off when you'll have to work twice as hard the next day?

A-fucking-men.

So, yeah. I read an article on MSN about Dubya's reaction to the millions of people protesting against his war. And from that article, I found the following quote:

"Democracy is a beautiful thing, in that people are allowed to express their opinion. Some in the world don't view Saddam Hussein as a risk to peace. I respectfully disagree."

First, I probably don't even need to say this, but I don't like war. I also think puppies are cute and I breathe air on a daily basis. This shit going on with Iraq and bombs and oil gives me a nervous tic. It also makes me clench my teeth and hum Jefferson Airplane songs as loud as I can. I could write pages on what I think. And maybe I will one day. But, for now, I want to talk about that there quote.

Ahem.

I am not surprised that Dubya fails to understand the concept of democracy. Being "allowed" to voice an opinion is not democracy. It's freedom of speech. And it seems like a lot of people are using that freedom to disagree with you, huh, bubba?

I'm trying to wrap my brain around the whole situation and that quote, but it keeps slipping all over the place. If we live in a democracy, how come our leader is going to do something against the will of a lot of fucking people? Isn't democracy BY the people? And why doesn't he admit that people are protesting because they don't want war, period? There is no need for names or finger pointing. People just don't want war. And is Dubya so dense that he doesn't even realize that he's a threat to peace?

Fuck. I just typed out a very long and detailed rant, but I erased it. Why? I was talking myself in circle. And the Nyquil just kicked in so anymore political talk and the damage from sounding like an idiot will be irreversible.

That makes me sad. I can barely rant about politics anymore.

<<< TOP >>>

Forever 23, my ass - 01.25.06

P-Nutz - 01.20.06

My nose hurts - 01.16.06

And really bad eggs - 01.13.06

I ain't no Alex Trebek - 01.11.06